The Perfect Everyday Bag: Marc Jacobs Tote Review

It’s no secret that I love a handbag. My husband is always telling me I have too many and it’s something he jokingly puts a ban on, but it’s never stuck too!

I’m not gonna lie but, handbags make me happy. No matter how shallow that sounds, they do and I love them.

Contrary to the belief I really don’t have a huge handbag collection. Especially when it comes to designer handbags I don’t have that many at all. Each bag I do own no matter how much they’ve cost I’ve bought them because I genuinely love them and can see them working in my everyday life.

That’s the thing with me and ‘bags’, well all items of clothing and accessories really. I buy something because I genuinely like it and as I said above that it will also work into my everyday life. I don’t buy for the ‘pose’ or just for the sake of it being designer, I have to genuinely love it. For example I have a little £3 Primark bag in my wardrobe which I love just as much as my $300 Marc Jacobs.

I’ve always admired the Marc Jacobs Tote and I’m very excited I now have one in my collection. On our recent trip to New York after a stroll along Broadway, we found ourselves in Bloomingdales and there was The Tote Bag on display in all her glory.

And then she was mine ♥

Tote review

For me The Tote Bag is my new perfect summer (and probably all year round) bag.

I’d describe the tote as a structured canvas bag. It has a zip closing with one large open compartment. It has a top handle and a wide cross body removable strap. The Tote Bag Marc Jacobs is embroidered across pretty much the whole of the bag, so if you’re into quiet luxury and not having labels on display then this is probably not for you! Saying that though, even though the ‘logo’ is in full on the bag I don’t find it over powering or in your face. It suits the bag and the design works.

It feels very sturdy to me and you can tell the quality opposed to less expensive high street versions.

I opted for the small as for me and my use for it the small just seemed the perfect size for everyday. Not too big and bulky, easy to carry around when using just the top handle and she sits perfectly when using as a cross body bag.

I have the beige tote bag and even though I love all the fun colours that it also comes in, the beige felt more classic to me and when spending a higher price point I want to make sure I can wear my bag with as many different outfits as possible. Also, I’ve read that some people have had problems with the brighter coloured bags in the canvas, that they did fade overtime. Fingers crossed my tote will fare well, I think it will.

My one negative with the bag and this is me just clutching at straws so I can be completely honest with my thoughts on the tote bag. As there’s only one compartment it means all your things can get a bit jumbled up inside the bag, but this is a tote and that is the nature of this particular style of bag. If that sort of thing bothers you I’d maybe find a handbag organiser that you can slot inside so your bits and pieces will be easier to reach for. With mine I’ve used a handy amenity bag I got on an Etihad flight once. It’s perfect as I keep my lip-balm, hand sanitizer and hand cream in it, only because I don’t want them to leak and ruin the inside of my bag.

A little Tote bag info

When having a quick look online about The Marc Jacobs Tote Bag I read that when it was launched in 2019 over 100,000 were sold and even today The Tote Bag is still considered an ‘It’ bag and it looks as though it will be staying around for a while yet.

The Marc Jacobs Tote comes in four different sizes, the mini, the small, the medium and the large.

On the website it states the mini can fit all phone sizes and small and medium wallets. The small can fit a small tablet and all wallet sizes. The medium can take 13″ laptop and the large all tablet sizes and 15″ laptop.

Final thoughts

I can totally understand why so many were sold when it was first launched and still considered an ‘It’ bag today. The tote bag has the Marc Jacobs quality, but doesn’t come with an unachievable price point. It’s practical and stylish and has the flexibility to fit into everyone’s lifestyle.

I can see the Marc Jacobs Tote Bag having considerable longevity and considering I haven’t stopped wearing mine since we got back from New York I think that says it all.

Heather x

Leave a comment